Love Notes (Amazon Reviews)

I am very proud of the difference I know this book will make in the lives of those who choose to delight themselves with the fun easy read that is pact with great techniques for living a better life. Yet every author, after finishing a book, has a place of hope in their heart, wanting others to receive the message they have so carefully crafted.

I am humbled and grateful that my book, Diary of an Ugly Sweater, has made a difference even before the release date of June 6th (June 8th on Kindle). I will continue to add unedited reviews periodically so you can get all your information on Sophie and her mission in one spot, right here.

To you, the reader, I am most appreciative that by engaging on this journey with Sophie, you allow me to share with you a most sacerd place, my imagination.


Reviews on Amazon
5 starsA unique perspective, a perfect story!
ByCrandomblog – Sandra “Sandra”on May 28, 2015
Format: Paperback
I received this book to review in exchange for an honest review. This in no way had any impact on the review.

When I first received the email to review this book, I almost deleted it before I looked over at my daughter and thought: ‘okay, it’s a kids book. I have a kid now, lets go ahead and give this a shot’. I know the earlier you start reading to kids the better, but the books that reside on my shelves aren’t really ‘kid material’ and while I have a few I have started reading to her (Harry Potter, The Series of Unfortunate Events), this one looked like it would be an interesting Christmas story. I didn’t read anything about the book other than skim over the blurb given with the book name and author name so I assumed when it arrived it would be a book written for younger kids and it would be one of those that had the hard covers. I was in for a shock when I arrived as a paperback, chapter book with a total of 198 glorious pages.

My next complete shock was when I realized the book was told from the perspective of the sweater herself. Her name is Sophie and had I done more than skim the blurb, this wouldn’t have shocked me at all. However from the very first sentence in this novel, I was hopelessly drug into the story and I found myself relating to a sweater in ways I never really thought that I would (haha, never thought I would say that either). You see, normally I avoid nonhuman characters (unless they are young kid books) and I attempt to avoid first person point-of-view stories too (though I think they are growing on me). I read this entire book and had to go back and see what point-of-view it was written in, I was that engrossed with story itself.

Anyways, Sophie goes through so much in the month of December and she writes down the events of her life daily. She is examined often, she gets to be a model and she even gets separated from her family. Through all the devastation and numerous disappoints, Sophie struggles with her thoughts and her mindset. She learns to persevere through it all with the help of her “framily” and she learns ways to help stay happy.

I believe that this book was meant to come across my path, I have been having issues with a lot of things here lately and this novel has helped me in so many ways. I read it on May 27th, 2015 in one day. I didn’t get to finish it in one sitting, but I did often read out loud to my daughter as I cuddled her or fed her. Diary of an Ugly Sweater is a heart warming novel that is meant for all ages, it will help adults just as well as it will help children. I loved the fact that you felt just about every emotion while reading this book.

I took a lot away from this book as far as lessons go and it’s currently housed on my shelf with all my favorite books. I will cherish it and love it for as long as I live. I give it five out of five stars, because I adored it and because I related to it in so many ways that it made it extraordinarily hard to to feel as if it were speaking to me. In parts, if even felt like it had been written for me. There are so many pages I have marked with post-it notes that it was hard for me to pick just one thing to quote from the book, but being the constant worry worm that I am, I choose this one:
“So why worry about something that will probably never happen? Why not enjoy your life and think about all the stuff that makes you feel good?” ~Cassi Eubank

If you enjoy a good story, if you are feel down and depressed, if you are worried about anything or if you are like me and are a bit pessimistic (I am really trying to change this) then please, pick up this book and read it. I can honestly promise you that you will love it and you will not regret it. I just wish it had been written sooner.





5 stars A soft adventure with a lot of feelings expressed

By Charles Ashbacher HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on July 14, 2015
Format: Paperback

The term “ugly sweater” is actually a harsh euphemism for more nice-sounding terms such as “unique” or “unusual” or “custom designed” sweater. This story is told from the perspective of a sweater that was manufactured to be a bit unusual but was then purchased by a woman with an idea to make the most “unique” sweater in the world.

The sweater’s name is Sophie and she was purchased by a woman named Katie. Sophie is a bright and sensitive “girl” and she experiences emotional ups and downs when she hears Katie discuss her plans for modifying Sophie in an attempt to win the Christmas Eve “ugly sweater” contest. Sophie suffers the “indignity” of having a raccoon, elf and even a Santa’s head sewn onto her “person.” This turns out to be a good thing, for now she has a captive set of companions to talk to.

The story is very much a soft adventure, Sophie lives through several personal crises and she gets by with a little help from her friends. She also learns that uniqueness is what all creatures possess, it is just the case that she has more uniqueness than others. It is a good story for adolescent girls as it packages many of the difficulties they have into a form that is easier to examine and react to.

This book was made available for free for review purposes.


5 stars The only bad thing about this book is that it might be …
By Judy Rubin on July 8, 2015
Format: Paperback

The only bad thing about this book is that it might be misunderstood. It is not a Christmas story. It is a story for everyone who wants to build confidence and self esteem, regardless of religious preference. This book is so important that it was just added to the curriculum at one of our local middle schools. This has an important message which is an easy read for children and adults.
5 stars A Wonderful Story About Self Worth!
ByChildren’s Book Revieweron July 3, 2015
Format: Paperback

Diary of an Ugly Sweater is a unique story told by a sweater named Sophie as she makes her journey from warehouse to store to someone’s home. Along the way the reader will learn life lessons as Sophie encounters troubles. She also discovers new things about herself. As a sweater on a shelf brand new Sophie is beautiful. She gets a photo shoot and lots of attention. But when she makes it to the store and gets pawed at, tried on, and moved around, she becomes stretched, worn, and damaged. When Sophie thinks no one will want her, her forever person, Katie, comes and buys her. The problem is she bought her for an ugly sweater contest. This news damages her view of herself. The reader will become aborbed in the story feeling the characters ups and downs. The great thing is Sophie learns a lot about life from Katie and how to become a better sweater no matter what she looks like on the outside. For Katie it wasn’t just about the contest any more, buying Sophie was about so much more.

This 180 page novel is a delightful story about self worth. The sweater imparts a valuable lesson. We must always be the best version of ourselves we can be. Then we will know we are a person of value, with a life that has purpose. It doesn’t matter what somone thinks, it only matters what we think of ourselves. These words are true and will resonate with readers young and old.


5 starsPersonal development/self-help book beautifully packaged as a charming and delightful story for children and teens!
By Candycohnon August 25, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

“Diary of an Ugly Sweater” is a real gem! I initially read about Cassi and her book on Facebook, and I was immediately intrigued as the Assistant Director of Maine Arts Camp. At our creative overnight camp for 9 to 16 year olds, we foster an environment of accepting and celebrating everyone for who they are. We try to help kids build their self esteem, be compassionate, and feel free to express themselves. We do not allow cliques or bullying, and we address it immediately if we see it happening.

“Diary of an Ugly Sweater” supports everything we’re all about at Maine Arts Camp! I had the impression that it would from the description, yet I was amazed at all the specific advice and coping skills the book contained. It’s really a personal development/self-help book beautifully packaged as a charming and delightful story for children and teens! People of all ages will enjoy and benefit from this book, but the fact that young people can relate to it means they will truly absorb the powerful messages.

There are so many factors that will appeal to a young audience beginning with the fact that it’s written in the form of a journal. The characters are very well defined, and the reader quickly becomes part of their world. The book addresses a variety of issues relevant in today’s culture including: the superficial nature of our media (when the sweater is part of a photo-shoot), the challenge of being disabled (a situation with a girl in a wheelchair), how understanding that everyone is struggling with something can help you understand behavior and be compassionate, the fact that everyone has insecurities, how suicide is never the answer, using scents to help your mood, smiling in a mirror to feel better, using affirmations, the fact that “family” doesn’t have to mean the traditional mother-father-children, understanding the psychology of success, knowing people who write self-help books and end up on Oprah, and much more. I love how it even introduces specific inspirational teachers that adults flock to such as Abraham-Hicks and Deepak Chopra. I’ve never seen this subject matter in a children’s book before, and I love introducing young people to personal development as a lifelong pursuit!

I think kids will also like that the story has a lot of humor and treats the audience in a mature way by mentioning things like “R-Rated sweaters.” The characters’ language is very contemporary and cool, too, using expressions like “just saying,” “go me,” “freaked out,” “creepy,” and “woot woot!” Characters also talk about common subjects for kids and teens such as social media, taking “selfies,” being sarcastic and seeing zombie movies.

I love how the book expresses the joy of creating and includes detailed descriptions of arts and crafts materials. It discusses how creative ideas are sparked, have a story, and a method involved that allows them to take shape. I think this inspires readers to nurture their creativity. “Pretend is your friend, girlfriend…pretend is your friend,” says Hula the peacock in all her wisdom.

What I especially love about this book is that it not only introduces so many wonderful ideas, but it reviews them and even gives a numbered list toward the end of 41 things that can make you happier in life. This makes it easy to digest and then constantly review these useful tips. This is a book that anyone will want to keep handy for ongoing refreshers.

I wish I had read a book like this at a young age, and I want to introduce it to our campers at Maine Arts Camp next summer. I recently learned that the author, Cassi Eubank has an activity guide for instructors to use with the book in schools and other programs, and I can’t wait to discuss it with her!

By gayle pace “May A Rainbow Shine Down On You!” on May 31, 2015
Format: Paperback

If you enjoy an interesting Christmas story, this book would be great for you and your children. This book isn’t your normal children’s book with a hard cover and 30 pages. It is paperback and 198 wonderful pages. A Chapter book, no less. I found it rather cute that the story was told from the sweater herself, her name Sophie. It’s rather strange but I found myself relating and getting to know the sweater in all kinds of ways. Sophie writes down her daily events since so much happened in December. She is separated from her family, gets to be a model and is looked at a lot. Even though Sophie goes through a lot of disappointments, she struggles and learns to get through it all with the help of her “family”. She finds ways to stay happy. The author wrote a heart-warming novel that is meant for little ones, tweens, YA and those not so young at heart. There are a lot of lessons to learn from this novel. There are a lot of emotions in this book too that everyone can relate to.

If you’re having a bad day and are down, if you are worried about something then this book should be on your shelf so you can go pick it up and do a little reading. You will feel better. You can’t help but love Sophie.

I was given a complimentary copy of DIARY OF AN UGLY SWEATER from the author Cassi Eubank for my view of the book.


5 stars Can’t wait to see what the Author has in store for us next!!!
ByMarcella Crawfordon July 29, 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase

I can’t remember reading a book that made me feel so uplifted. Sophie’s journey is so relatable to me and I am sure, many (if not everyone) who may pick up this wonderful book. I think children of all ages could benefit from reading this as well and so many adults. I absolutely LOVED every word in this story and can’t wait to see what the author has in store for us next!!


5 starsThis delightful little book will become a new holiday tradition in our home!
By Leigh Le Creux on July 17, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition

What a pleasant surprise this book is! As a mom of two avid readers, Diary of an Ugly Sweater is a breath of fresh air away from wizards, witches, and dragons. The book is entertaining and filled with realistic fictional characters with subtle but profound lessons for all ages. As the book is written as diary entries throughout the month of December, it will become a new holiday tradition in our home. I love the idea of mysterious elves and Pinterest ideas to delight my children, but in all honesty I am not the mom who is diligent enough to find new places and adventures for a stuffed elf every night for the holidays. I can however, read a chapter every evening and talk with my kids about each one. Not only will it foster some of the values we hold as a family, but it will bring us together and provide us a new tradition in which to celebrate the holidays together. Making an ugly sweater of our own with weekly additions would also be easier than nightly visits with elves or reindeer! Further, as a former educator, there has always been too few resources available to share in a classroom to open discussions of cultural differences in celebration of holidays. I believe that this little book can open the door for many teachers in this subject as well as hold a number of projects that would be cross-cultural, suitable for building self esteem and open enough to begin communications on issues such as bullying, depression and suicide. Buy this book. You won’t be disappointed.


5 stars There is great advice and tools that kids can use as they …
By Coco on May 30, 2015
Format: Paperback
Given To Me For An Honest Review

Diary of an Ugly Sweater by Cassi Eubank is written by Sophie. Sophie is a Christmas sweater and she writes the book in diary form. All that Sophie feels and wonders is exactly how kids and adults feel. There is great advice and tools that kids can use as they try to fit in at school and in life. It teaches how to be confident and deal with others in a positive way. This book was so much fun to read. Once you begin reading it, you won’t be able to put it down until you are finished. Then you’ll find yourself reading and re-reading it again. Although it has a Christmas theme, it doesn’t matter it can be read at any time. I gave this book 5 stars but wish I could give it more. It would make a great gift to give. Christmas is coming and there is always a birthday coming along. I highly recommend this book to everyone. I look for more from Cassi Eubank.


5 starsI loved reading this book
By Shirah S. Penn “GrammaShirah” on May 24, 2015
Format: Paperback
I loved reading this book, Diary of an Ugly Sweater! I read it in one day. I just couldn’t put it down. I loved how the author used a piece of clothing to make so many points that relate to human beings. I even felt warm human feelings for the story of the sweater who kept a diary. She learned so many lessons that I have also learned over the course of my journey. The book is entertaining and has so much wisdom. Thank you, Cassi Eubanks.


5 starsI bought this book for my niece and she loved it! we read it together and I must …
By Nikole Schlittenhardt “uiki loves music” on May 7, 2015
Format: Paperback
I bought this book for my niece and she loved it! We read it together and I must say it was a very cute story. The diary teaches some great lessons for kids about self-confidence and the ability to empower yourself and love yourself. it really is a creative and fun story. the characters are so unique and wonderful. the writer did a great job.


5 stars Great book. So much to learn from
By Orit Murad Rehany “Orit Murad Rehany, A River of Tears The River of Hope” on May 27, 2015
Format: Paperback
Inspiring and encouraging, definitely motivating and empowering. Great book. So much to learn from.


5 starsOutstanding
By William Jackson on May 21, 2015
Format: Paperback
This one is outstanding. Thanks to Cassi Eubank for such quality writing. I can’t hold myself as this book deserve five stars. I am not a good writer as like the author, but at list i can say that this book is not limited to any age. Anyone will love the writing. The way author describe is heart-warming and funny. Once again thank Cassi Eubank.
5 stars Wonderful Read!
By Shirley Priscilla Johnson “Shirley Priscilla Johnson “TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE on June 2, 2015
Format: Paperback
I want to say right off that I love reading and reviewing a book from a Author who is not afraid to launch out in a way that some may feel is ‘different’ Personally, I like different..
At first when I received the book and started to read it I thought, Well isn’t it sweet a little book for children told by a sweater, how adorable is that and I really meant it. I like reading children’s books. However, this book held surprises that amazed me, and blessed me.
Sophie is indeed a sweater who is about to embark on life. We are taken into her world as she leaves her home, the Factory, travels to a store, and finally has a owner. Sophie’s entire ambition in life is to be owned and loved, she is excited to begin it, but unfortunately for her things do not turn out the way she thought they should be. Sophie has one friend, her diary, and it is through her writing that we are able to follow her story.
We soon learn that her new owner has bought her to fix up for a contest. Sophie is excited at first, that is until she learns she is going to be in a Ugly Sweater contest. She becomes very depressed trying to understand why her forever owner would do that to her! She becomes sadder and sadder as different Christmas characters are placed on to her sweater. Each one that is placed there becomes a part of Sophie’s life. Finally, they share stories, hopes and dreams, and even fears of the future. We are taken down the dark road of desperation, disappointment, anger, and rejection as Sophie confronts a future she does not want to live. It is at that time that she learns many of life’s lessons, from her sweater friends, and her forever owner. she also learns that being thankful and positive in a given situation can mean all the difference in the world.

This story is absolutely wonderful for young and old. By being taken into the life of a sweater we allow our imagination to be stretched and open ourselves to ‘anything can happen world.’ that’s an exciting place to be in, but this book gives us more than that.

Young and old alike will learn many lessons from this book. Life does not always give us what we want or what we expect, there are always twists and turns but keeping a positive attitude and searching for the good side of any situation brings both growth and character development. This story teaches us that we should not give up when things don’t turn out the way we thought they should. From Sophie’s experience we learn not to jump to conclusions, to be grateful for what has been given us, and to believe that each day is a new beginning of a wonderful future. You will close the book knowing to never jump to conclusions, never give in to the negative emotions, and always look forward to a new tomorrow. I closed the book with a smile, I think you will too. Excellent read, highly recommended. Book received for a honest review.


5 stars What I find so awesome is that
By Kelly on June 1, 2015
Format: Paperback
I could not put this book down. I had to know what Sophie was up to next. What I find so awesome is that, in a highly amusing story, Cassi as woven in so many strategies for achieving balance and harmony in your life! This book will be purchased for each one of my (7!!) children and their spouses this holiday season. Who am I kidding? I’m getting it for all of them this summer!!


5 stars A sweet story with deep meaning
By S. Grosor on June 2, 2015
Format: Paperback
This is a very sweet story that is filled with a lot of wisdom and lessons. Very light hearted and well written. I highly suggest reading it!

By Pat Quinlivan on June 4, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase


5 stars Refreshingly different
By Tim on June 4, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
What a nice book! It draws you in from the very start and gets better as you go. Inspirational and in a cleaver way teaches you some life lessons. I enjoyed it but my kids truly loved it and are constantly asking questions based on different parts of the book. My kids have always enjoyed reading but this book has caught their imagination and Sophie has let their minds think about what they have read as well as let their minds wonder in other thoughts that Sophie got them thinking about. Do yourself and your kids a favor and read this book.
Thank You Cassi for creating a wonderful character like Sophie for all my kids to enjoy and learn from


5 stars What a beautiful portrayal of daily life through the words of an ugly/beautiful sweater Sophie!
By Linda on June 8, 2015
Format: Paperback
I wanted to give the author an honest review of her new book. I do not have children and do not read children’s book too often. Cassie has a way of bringing all fantasy to life in this book. Sophie is an ugly sweater and she learns so many of life’s adventures and lessons as she struggles to understand the characteristics of people in her life. It is so adorable and magical the way Cassie portrays a Christmas sweater to daily life. I was so amazed at the gift Cassi has in bringing life’s lesson to reality! Any child or adult will definitely benefit from reading this fun-filled book.

This book leaves you feeling good about yourself and others. I was truly touched by the beauty and genuine tenderness the way this book was portrayed and written. Thank you Cassi for a wonderful read! Lots of life’s lessons to be learned in this book!


5 stars Sophie Rocks!!!!!!!
By Dottie Sillano on June 7, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I just finished reading the story of Sophie’s journey. What an awesome expression of life lessons. I loved every word on every page. Cassi does a wonderful job of breathing poignant life into each character. Thank you Cassi for your life loving ways that you have shared through Sophie.


5 stars Five Stars doesn’t give this book justice, it really needs more stars
By Jennifer on June 4, 2015
Format: Paperback
There is not enough stars to rate this book in my opinion. This book is great for all ages, child to adult. Many adults experience exactly what Sophie experiences in their jobs, life, and society. The book keeps the reader totally engaged and the reader can relate to Sophie and all she goes through good and bad. Every single person deals with being accepted, having enough confidence in all situations, jealousy, family situations and the ups and downs of life. I think this book is especially a book needed for all young adults and adults and children with special needs, who deal with the same situations that Sophie does dealing with acceptance for who they are. The book is easy to understand and is constantly teaching a valuable life lesson in this most interesting story of Sophie’s life, and I think anyone who doesn’t have it, in their book collection is really missing out. It is the kind of book you can read multiple times and learn something new each time you read it. There is not another book like it, I have ever read, with as much character. You laugh with the character of Sophie and you cry with her. As the book is finished the reader will long for more stories about Sophie, as it is such as a great story, the reader doesn’t want it to end.
5 stars Great book for all!
By John on June 12, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Heartwarming book for ALL ages. Great message presented in a fun and entertaining way. I read the whole thing in one sitting. This is one you will want to keep for your kids.


5 stars I love books that are easy reading and I can connect to…
By Carol Wilkinson June 10, 2015
Format: Paperback
I love books that are easy reading and I can connect with the character (s). What I love most about Diary of an Ugly Sweater is how Sophie comes to ‘life’ and shares her vulnerability, her thoughts, and her feelings as she writes them in her diary. I felt I was traveling with Sophie on her journey. Truly Inspirational!
Cassi has created a magical sweater to teach life lessons for the young and not so young!
5 stars Great for all types of people of all ages
By Jason Whitley on June 10, 2015
Format: Paperback
This book is easy to read and great for all types of people of all ages. Every one needs to read it as you can relate to it.


5 stars This book is a must read for all ages!
By Sherrie Gottesmanon June 10, 2015
Format: Paperback
When I saw the cover of my friend Cassi Eubank’s book I did not know what to think. Is this a Christmas Story or a Children’s book? It is that and so much more. This book is great for all ages. Diary of an Ugly Sweater is a very imaginative book. It is written in Diary form and narrated by the sweater herself who goes by the name of Sophie. You can read a chapter at a time or read the whole book. While reading the book I felt like Sophie was my friend and she sure goes on many adventures.

What I also enjoyed about this book is that in each chapter there were lessons to learn to help navigate anybody through there lives. It showed through our tour guide Sophie, lessons regarding self-esteem, self-care and how to deal with difficult negative people. I could really relate to Sophie because I have been in her shoes before, being picked on and ridiculed. I like how Sophie was shown that when people are mean to you, it is usually not about you, it is about something that they are going through. I couldn’t wait to turn the page to see what was going to happen next with Sophie. I liked how the items on her sweater became her friends and family and that they each had their own life experiences to relay to Sophie.

I have dealt with Depression in my life and have beaten myself up just like Sophie did. Jumping to conclusions and imagining all the negatives of a situation before it happens. Sophie goes to the point of trying to end her life using a vacuum cleaner. At that point she gave up, she survived thanks to her forever person Katie, but she learned her lesson that there are people out there that care about her and that are affected by her actions. Not realizing her situation was not all about her and that the other characters on her sweater were hurt by her actions was an eye opener. We do not realize when we are in our situation that others are affected. I also was reminded that by training my brain to think about positive side I could really do wonders for any situation I will encounter.

I could go on and on, there are so many lessons to be learned from this book and Sophie. I don’t want to spoil it all. I would recommend this book to young and old. It is a great time to be had by all. You are going to love Sophie.


5 stars Fun and Insightful
By Donna Knox on June 18, 2015
Format: Paperback
“Diary of an Ugly Sweater” is a MUST read! This book raises your positive energy levels to a whole new way of thinking! I love the simplicity of how we all can learn to cope with everyday life. Sophie and all of her friends are insightful, a delight and down to earth! Whatever you may want to achieve it is attainable! This is a whimsical journey to live every day with Sophie as she finds her way to true happiness! Honestly “Diary of an Ugly Sweater” is a book to read during the holiday season with your children and family as well as a book to pick up when we need some extra positivity in our daily lives! A huge Thank You to author “Cassi Eubank” for her magical imagination and eloquent writing!


5 stars An Entertaining Book For ALL Ages
By Valerie Brunnberg on June 18, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Don’t be mistaken by the cover! This book is not ONLY for kids. Just like a lot of today’s animated films, there are many messages in here for adults and children alike. The author has a beautiful and imaginative way of bringing the sweater to life by giving her a voice. This tale (told by Sophie the sweater) is chock-full of great lessons on learning to love the skin you’re in and keeping a positive outlook on life, even when life is handing you lemons. I highly recommend picking up several copies…one for you and several to give as gifts this holiday season!


5 stars Awesome Read
By Rebecca Bryant “Becca” on June 30, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
One of the greatest Christmas traditions in this era is the ugly sweater contest that most families, friends and co-workers host. But what about the sweater have you ever thought how they feel about being called ugly. Well Cassi tackles this subject and many more when we are taken into the world in which Sophie lives.

Sophie is a sweater who is learning that life can be difficult and unkind sometimes. She is also learning with the help of others that how you deal with life’s hardship is very important. In the month of December Sophie is born and lives a lifetime of experience. She is examined, showed off, hurt and loved all in a short span of time. She also learns that though life can be unkind you can still keep happiness in your heart.

When I first received this book I was in awe because the author herself took extra care to make the book delivery special. I immediately knew the author was someone special so I had great hopes that the book would reflect this. I was right from the first chapter I was hooked. Not only is this a book that is fun to read but it allows children to learn something new with each chapter. It teaches them that how they view the world and what happens to them can affect their feelings and that how they deal with it is a choice they can make.

They can choose to be happy or they can let the bad seep in and steal their happy. Either way it’s up to them. Cassi uses Sophie to teach children how to have good self-esteem, self-care and how to deal with negative people. I came away from this book feeling happy and with a smile in my heart. This was a very wonderful read and I encourage parents to get a copy for their kids to read or to even read it with their children.

**Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.**


5 stars More than an awesome book!
By David Pollock on June 27, 2015
Format: Paperback
This book is more than a fun, easy to read book that you don’t want to put down! Diary of an Ugly Sweater isn’t just for teens, but for all ages – it actually has a greater message on how to deal with our own insecurities and how a positive attitude can make the total difference. Definitely a book you will enjoy and have a positive influence. (also great book to give as a gift too!)


5 stars What a unique and clever concept
By Susan Day (Author/Illustrator Astro’s Adventures) on June 24, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
This is a delightful book that will enchant its young readers. I loved the fact that it was written in diary form from the viewpoint of the sweater, names Sophie. Many children are encourage to keep journals and diaries and this is a wonderful example they can emulate.

The characters are wonderful. They are well developed and I think they make great role models. The plot moves along at a cracking pace and is certainly a page turner.

I highly recommend it to any young reader and suggest parents grab a copy to add to your child’s bookshelf – you won’t be sorry.


5 stars A Cute Little Book About the Power of Positive Thinking… Even If You’re an Ugly Sweater!
By terrylynn on June 24, 2015
Format: Paperback
This is a cute book and the first one I have ever read that was written by a sweater. I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to relate to Sophie since our lives are so different… I mean she is a sweater and I am a middle aged mother and grandmother who loves to read and write and play with my grandchildren. But it seems that Sophie and I have a lot in common and as I read about her fascinating story from the factory to the warehouse, to the store and then finally to her special person’s house, I realized that a lot of the feelings this beautiful little sweater has are ones that we all feel at one time or another.

Sophie has a lot to learn as she goes through life trying to make sense of the world around her and how she fits in. She is basically a happy sweater but finds herself sad, lonely and even a little depressed at times, especially when she finds out that she is an UGLY sweater! With the help of her friends, Sophie learns that she is in all the ways that matter a beautiful sweater and it’s up to her to look at the bright side of life.

A delightful story appropriate for children, teens and adults, Diary of an Ugly Sweater is author Cassie Eubank’s way of reminding readers that the power of living a truly happy life lies within each of us and the attitudes we do or do not embrace every day and she does it with creativity, style and humor. An upbeat little book sure to make every reader feel empowered by the idea that we can create our own happiness. Five stars for Cassie Eubank and Diary of an Ugly Sweater.*

*I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest and unbiased opinion which I have given. I do not know this author and no other form of compensation took place.


5 stars Wonderfully written and very entertaining
By Marion Holmes “Reader” on June 22, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Wonderfully written and very entertaining. Great book for youth meeting milestones like middle school, high school and college when self image and self esteem are so important and confidence so needed. Would love to see this book as a subject of study and discussion in classrooms as well as Sunday schools (and even adult book clubs).
5 stars Delightful!
By Sherri L Frost on June 22, 2015
Format: Paperback
What an absolute delight! We learn best with stories and this book is a lovely metaphor that teaches you on a subconscious level how to love yourself. This message is so important for kids and yet it is a message that adults need to hear as well. You will laugh and cry as you follow Sophie’s journey as gains confidence to be herself.


5 stars Great Lessons…
By CeCe Espeut on June 20, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book teaches some great lessons and tells an amazing story. A great summer read that is on its way to being a classic.


5 stars Five Stars
By Amazon Customer on June 13, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Loved it!


5 stars A Wonderful Story About Self Worth!
July 3, 2015 By Children’s Book Reviewer
This review is from: Diary of an Ugly Sweater (Paperback)
Diary of an Ugly Sweater is a unique story told by a sweater named Sophie as she makes her journey from warehouse to store to someone’s home. Along the way the reader will learn life lessons as Sophie encounters troubles. She also discovers new things about herself. As a sweater on a shelf brand new Sophie is beautiful. She gets a photo shoot and lots of attention. But when she makes it to the store and gets pawed at, tried on, and moved around, she becomes stretched, worn, and damaged. When Sophie thinks no one will want her, her forever person, Katie, comes and buys her. The problem is she bought her for an ugly sweater contest. This news damages her view of herself. The reader will become aborbed in the story feeling the characters ups and downs. The great thing is Sophie learns a lot about life from Katie and how to become a better sweater no matter what she looks like on the outside. For Katie it wasn’t just about the contest any more, buying Sophie was about so much more.

This 180 page novel is a delightful story about self worth. The sweater imparts a valuable lesson. We must always be the best version of ourselves we can be. Then we will know we are a person of value, with a life that has purpose. It doesn’t matter what somone thinks, it only matters what we think of ourselves. These words are true and will resonate with readers young and old.


5 stars Loved the daily entries in this fun book with a diary format.
By Jackson on May 23, 2015
Format: Paperback
Very cleaver. I loved the daily entries in this fun book with a diary format.

There are a couple of things that set this book apart from other “Christmas” books.

First, Sophie discovers Christmas as she sees the people in her new home celebrating their traditions, yet several other holidays are mentioned and Sophie expresses an eagerness to explore all traditions. This offers a feel of acceptance of all religions which is refreshing.

Second, the issues Sophie has as she figures out how she fits into the world are universal to kids and adults alike. It delivers great advice and valuable tools to the younger reader, who can relate as they try to fit in at school and in life, which every parent should want to provide for their children. Yet adults will warm to this story as well.

Third, although it is set during the Christmas holidays, as the younger reader relates to Sophie, they will find themselves applying the solutions that Sophie used in their own lives. And it is never too soon to learn self-confidence and how to get along well with others. I recommend this book be read right away and again each Christmas.
5 stars Inspiring!!!!
By Smith on May 23, 2015
Format: Paperback
I bought this book for my niece and set it aside, but it kept calling to me. Once I picked it up, I found it difficult to put down. The innocence of Sophie is refreshing and I love her honest look at life. I could feel her pain as she struggled with relationships and I cheered her on when she came up with creative ways of dealing with “life”. I was really touched by the characters that became her “framily”. Framily is a cute term coined by the author that is defined as your friends that are so close to you that they become your chosen family.

Although I bought this for my niece, I will have to get another copy for her. I plan to keep this one and read it again and again.

5 stars This book is a must have for every family.
By Farzan on May 22, 2015
Format: Paperback
This book is a must have for every family. I wanted to read it before giving it to my daughter to read and I couldn’t wait to give it to her once I finished. I was brought into the story and really started caring about Sophie. She was so sweet and vulnerable. By getting so invested in the character, I found that when she came up with ingenious ways to avoid conflict and win other sweaters over, I started thinking about ways I too could use humor to diffuse situations at work.

The story was packed full of good advice but delivered in a way so that you effortlessly took in all the lessons that Sophie learned. I figured if I learned from this book, my daughter would certainly benefit. I send her to school to learn how to read and write. This book is teaching her how to be confident and deal with others in a mutually beneficial way. When she finishes, I’ll loan it to her cousin!

5 stars makes me happy
By Tanji on May 26, 2015
Format: Paperback
I liked this book. I felt sorry for Sophie because she got picked on and people called her ugly. I know how she feels because I always felt ugly and people were mean to me. Because of the way Sophie deals with her problems, I can see more possibilities for myself. And I used to blame myself thinking if I was just a better person, people would be nice to me. But it is not my fault and I am happier than I have been in a long time. Sophie became my friend. Thank you miss Eubank for such a good book.

5 stars


A big thank you goes out to all who took the time to fall in love with Sophie and review the Diary.

Big love for each of you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *